Thursday, May 10, 2012

The Agency

by Y. S. Lee

Mary Lang's life wasn't easy.  That's why when she is sentenced to death for stealing, she takes it as her due.  Perhaps dying at 12 is easier than living as a beggar and thief any longer.  But when a stranger offers her the opportunity to skirt the gallows and attend Miss Scrimshaw's Academy for Girls, Mary Lang takes Quinn's place.  And this Academy teaches it's girls more than the usual skills.  This Academy sets it's girls up so that when they are ready they can take their places in the Agency, London's premiere women only spy house.

The Agency series is an entertainingly written novel about a mythical spy agency run by women.  Mary Quinn (Lang) is an interesting character who's history is revealed slowly through the three novels.  Her Chinese heritage is only hinted at in the first novel, but becomes more and more intriguing during the following ones.  The books are a great spy read.

Genre: Historical Fiction
Age Level: 7-8th Grade

Series Information:
Book 1: A Spy in the House
Book 2: Body at the Tower
Book 3: Traitor in the Tunnel

No comments:

Post a Comment